Some 300 local law enforcement agencies statewide are joining forces between February and early March for 2020’s Great Texas Warrant Roundup.
If you have active arrest warrants on old, unpaid citations, you’ve likely been notified, via mail or telephone.
You’ve been advised to contact a municipal, JP, or county court and encouraged to pay off outstanding fines, during a deceptively titled “grace period.”
Don’t be fooled.
Simply paying a fine (even if it is reduced or court costs are waived) to resolve a citation means it WILL go to your driving record.
That means higher insurance premiums, points on your driver’s license, even surcharges.
If you pay off a fine (or apply jail time served credit) associated with a citation for a moving violation you will have a conviction on your driving record.
You will be assigned 2 points on your license under Texas’ Driver Responsibility Program.
If you pay off a fine (or apply jail time served credit) associated with citations for driving without insurance, driving while license invalid, or driving without a license, you’ll be assessed ‘Conviction Surcharges’ ranging from $100 to $250 per year, for three years.
If you have outstanding warrants and you’re arrested, you’ll have to post a bond in the full amount of your unpaid fines to get out of jail. You can hire a bondsman to do this, but a bondsman cannot represent you in court.
Don’t waste your time and your money.
Talk to us today.